PGA Tour SBS Championship 2010 Winner “Geoff Ogilvy”

PGA Tour SBS Championship 2010 Golf Betting Winner: The SBS Championship of PGA Tour 2010 has successfully completed. Geoff Ogilvy successfully defended his title at Kapalua as he won the season-opening SBS Championship by a stroke in Hawaii. Geoff Ogilvy believes he has learnt from last year, when he started the season in a blaze of glory before going missing during the business part of the golf season.

After successfully defending his title at the $US5.6 million ($A6.03 million) SBS Championship on Sunday, Australia’s best player vowed he would hit far fewer balls this year.

The Australian shot a final-round 67 at the par-73 Kapalua Resort Plantation Course to win by a shot at 22 under par from South Africa’s Rory Sabbatini and land the tournament of the previous year’s PGA Tour event winners for a second year in a row.

American Matt Kuchar was third of the 28-man field at 19 under with his compatriot Sean O’Hair in a tie for fourth at 18 under with Scotland’s Martin Laird.

Ogilvy started the day one shot back on third-round leader and US Open champion Lucas Glover but as the front runner dropped off the leaderboard, Ogilvy’s new target became Sabbatini.

Sabbatini had given the leaders plenty to think about with a bogey-free, 10-birdie 63 that gave him the clubhouse lead until Ogilvy brought up the rear and took the title, the Australian reaching the 18th tee with a one-stroke lead and needing to avoid bogey or worse to force a play-off.

Laird had been in contention all week and at 19 under after 15 holes was just three shots back only to bogey 16 and 17 to ruin his hopes of victory.

There was eagle opportunity at the par-five 18th but the Scot’s long putt just missed right and Laird’s birdie nevertheless bumped him up into a top-five finish at 18 under.

Ogilvy, 32, collected $1.12 million for his seventh victory on the US Tour.

Check out remaining 2010 PGA Tour Golf Odds.

This entry was posted in Golf News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *